Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Articles

Thought leadership articles by IABM and our members
Articles taken from IABM's journal and at show papers
To submit your article email marketing@theiabm.org

Why you should remove unused Facebook apps…

Mon 20, 11 2017

As you probably know, Facebook is a vast social media platform that offers numerous ways for people to interact with one another and just generally enjoy have a good time.

One of Facebook’s most popular features is the ability to run third-party apps. If you can think of something you’d like to do on Facebook, there’s probably an app that makes it possible. And many apps are indeed quite useful.

But there’s something you need to know about Facebook apps: Some of them can be downright dangerous!

An app that’s poorly written or written with mal intent can cause all kinds of strange unexplained issues with your Facebook experience:

  • Photos, status updates and comments that you’ve posted will simply disappear without a trace.
  • Photos, status updates and comments that you didn’t post will show up on your Timeline or in your friends’ newsfeeds, making it appear that you’re responsible for posting them. And when that happens they’re usually posts that put you in a bad light.
  • Your friends start receiving Instant Messages that appear to have been sent by you, even though you never sent them.
  • Miscellaneous glitches of all types will have you ready to pull your hair out.
    If you’ve been using Facebook for more than 5 minutes you’ve surely experienced at least one or two of the above situations, and possibly all of them.

There are a couple of ways for dangerous apps to make their way onto Facebook:

  • An app starts out being legitimate and safe, but the author later makes changes that cause it to start spreading malware and misinformation, stealing users’ personal information or simply wreaking havoc with the Facebook user experience. In fact, most malicious apps probably start out as legitimate apps.
  • An app that’s malicious from the start sneaks in and is soon being spread around Facebook by unsuspecting (and usually well-intentioned) users, either through status updates or instant messages.

Regardless of how they got onto the platform, malicious Facebook apps that are enabled on your account can cause all kinds of grief for both you and your friends.

Regardless of how they got onto the platform, malicious Facebook apps that are enabled on your account can cause all kinds of grief for both you and your friends - Rick Rouse, Why you should remove unused Facebook apps Click To Tweet

And just because an app doesn’t appear to be malicious today doesn’t mean it won’t turn to the dark side at some point in the future.

That’s why we strongly recommend that you review your list of enabled apps and remove any apps that you either don’t use or don’t recognize.

Here’s how:

  1. Log into your Facebook account
  2. Click the down arrow located at the far right side of the blue bar at the top of the Facebook window
  3. Click Settings
  4. Click the Apps link over in the left-hand column. You should now see a list of all the apps that are enabled on your account
  5. Review the apps listed. If you see one or more that you don’t use or recognize, hover your mouse over the app and click the X to remove that app from your account

That’s all there is to it. The only apps that should now be enabled are the ones you actually use on a regular basis. That makes your Facebook account more secure and more reliable, with hopefully fewer glitches and headaches.

Credit: Rick Rouse

Search For More Content



X